Bus Stop

As I sit here with heavy eyes
I wait,
Staring into lights
Red, green, orange, yellow

All flashing, coming, going,
And still
As ear buds in my ears fail to silence the outside noise
I rest under the cotton of my sweater, keeping warm

Everyday, I ask when he’ll be here
Everyday, I feel cold
As cars fly by,
Old, new, beat up, and polluting

Not me, but my mind
And the world I make up by it
Closer, brighter, faster
These lights pass by me

As I sit here with tears
Wondering where you are
My love, I have waited
And will continue to do so

Here,
At this cold stop,
I am not afraid to admit my love for you
And that you could make me cry

And I will continue to wait

2 thoughts on “Bus Stop

Leave a Reply

